Urban Journalism Institute
Municipal Times Journal

New UCLG Executive Bureau elected

The UCLG World Council gathered yesterday to decide on the strategic priorities of the organization for 2022-2028 and to adopt the Presidency’s Report for 2022, the Pact of the Future of Humanity, and the work plan for 2023. 

The session was chaired by Jan Van Zanen, UCLG Governing President. Emilia Saiz, UCLG Secretary General, explained the core components of the organization’s in the coming years will focus on starting the process to make the Pact’s vision actionable and to develop a monitoring mechanism and concrete actions. 

The World Council also elected the Executive Bureau for the period of 2022-2025. The newly elected include:

Collegial Presidency
Carolina Cosse, Mayor of Montevideo, Latin America (1 year)
Uğur İbrahim Altay, Mayor of Konya, MEWA (1 year)
Jan Van Zanen, Mayor of The Hague, Europe (1 year)
Lee Jang-Woo, Mayor of Daejeon, ASPAC (1 year)

Li Mingyuan, Mayor of Xi’an, ASPAC
Bekhe Stofile, President of SALGA, Africa
Altay Kulginov, Mayor of Astaná, Eurasia
Berry Vrbanovic, Mayor of Kitchener, North America
Johnny Araya, Mayor of San José, Latin America

Asmaa Rhlalou, Mayor of Rabat, Africa

Standing Committee on Gender Equality
Fatimetou Abdel Malick, President of Nouakchott Region, Africa

Special nominations: 

Ambassadors of the Pact for the Future

Ambassador for the future of people: Ada Colau, Mayor of Barcelona, Europe
Ambassador for the future of the planet: Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris, Europe
Ambassador for the future of government: Yücel Balikesir, Mayor of Balikesir, MEWA

Special Envoys
Special Envoy for the New Urban Agenda to the United Nations, Carlos Martínez, Mayor of Soria, Europe
Special Envoy for Food Systems: Mohamed Sefiani, Mayor of Chefchaouen, Africa
Special Envoy for Freedom, Solidarity and Fighting violence against political leaders: Carola Gunnarsson, Mayor of Sala, Europe